Bansfield BeneficeDiocese of St Edmundbury & IpswichChurch of England Benefice Scenes Benefice Scenes Benefice Scenes Benefice Scenes

chapel Back to Original use

Bury Free Press

On a lovely June evening, last Friday, bells of Wickhambrook parish church rang out as clergy and parishioners assembled for the dedication by the Lord Bishop of Dunwich, the Rt Revd T.H. Cashmore, of the church's chapel of ease and furnishings.

More than 200 people joined in the thanksgiving for continued improvements in the appearance of the historic building. The congregation was composed of the members of the Church of England and Congregationalists, Methodists, Roman Catholics and people of other denominations, and members of the parish council attendees.


A feature of the service was not only the dedication on the chapel of ease to its original use, but also the dedication of the furnishings of the chapel given in memory of Philip Hodgson, Mary Felicity Irvine. Minnie de la Haye, Ethel Annie Wirledge and Lily Agnes Carr. Many of the relatives were present.

Thanks were expressed to the architect, craftsmen and decorators for their skill.

The dedication took place after the vicar, Revd J.D. Hodgson, had conducted evensong. An address was given by the Bishop.

After the service, the company were served with refreshments in the Memorial Hall. The Rural Dean and vicar thanked all who had contributed to the occasion.

Those present

The clergy who took part were the Revd W.S Spreadbury (Great Wratting), H.O. Hutton (Hawkedon). G.D.Taylor (Denston) who acted as Bishop's chaplain; W.E. Beale (Kedington), L.E. West (Watford) formerly of Denston and Rural Dean of Clare. C. Storrs-Fox, Rural Dean, who read the first lesson; and E.J. Salmon, a former vicar of Wickhambrook, and now at Langham, who read the second lesson; Canon J.Ecclestone, from the diocese of Coventry, a friend and former tutor to the Revd J.D. Hodgon when he was in Auckland, New Zealand, 30 years ago; the Ven H.D. Barton, Archdeacon of Sudbury.

Among others present were lay reader Mr B. Thomas (Bury St Edmunds), Mr B. Martin, secretary of the parish church council, who was the cross bearer, and Mr. H. Gray and Mr. B. Cadre, churchwardens; Mrs Dennis, Mrs Dean, the Revd R.W. Jones and family, Revd E.A. Graves (Haverhill), the Revd C.E. Weatherall (Hitcham), the Revd N.S. Shellock, rep. the S.P.G. Miss Hart; the architect, Mr C. Beadsmore Smith, A.R.I.B.A., and Mr. M. Bayman.

Last Modified Sunday 11 February 2018